Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


YSCC takes home awards for USCAA DII Men's Basketball including Coach of the Year

YSCC takes home awards for USCAA DII Men's Basketball including Coach of the Year

(YSCC) -- The USCAA season ending awards were handed out at the basketball championships this week, and the YSCC brought home some awards. 

NHTI Men's Basketball Coach Paul Hogan took home the USCAA DII Coach of the year award. 2 of his players, J'Quavious Thurmond and Deric Jackson were First and Second Team All-Americans respectively. Dustin Simpson-Bragg of UMAugusta, Travonne Thompson of UMMachias and Josh Chery of CMCC all were named to the USCAA Second-Team All-Americans. Titus Smith of Vermont Tech was named a USCAA Honorable Mention. 

Congratulations to all the YSCC winners.

First-Team All-Americans

Michael Taylor Berkeley College-NY
J'Quavious Thurmond NHTI
Jordan Payne Penn State Greater Allegheny
Jalen Smith Penn State Mont Alto
Richard Grant Penn State York
Terrence Brown Penn State Brandywine
Travis Gagau Southwestern Adventist University
Johnnie Green Berkeley College-NY
Joel Zola Central Penn College
DeJaun Owens Villa Maria College


Second-Team All-Americans

Kody Jacoby Penn State Schuylkill
Dorian Broadwater Penn State New Kensington
Travonne Thompson University of Maine-Machias
Curtis Newby Penn State Greater Allegheny
Dustin Simpson-Bragg University of Maine-Augusta
Jordan Gant Warren Wilson College
Ricardo Ayuso Berkeley College-NY
Darius Bryant Warren Wilson College
Josh Chery Central Maine CC
Deric Jackson NHTI


Honorable Mention All-Americans

Tristan Pierce Penn State DuBois
Justin Stokes Villa Maria College
James Fisher Penn State Brandywine
Gunnar Tharp Kent State-Tuscarawas
Titus Smith Vermont Tech
Jonathan Buie Penn State Lehigh Valley
Jack Engleman University of Cincinnati-Clermont
Kyree Sawyer Five Towns College
Joshua Fitzpatrick Andrews University
Alex Johnson ACPHS
Donte Winfield Penn State Brandywine
Levaugn Soules Penn State Wilkes-Barre
Jordan Fragale SUNY Delhi
Jackson Henri Davis College

Coach of the Year: Paul Hogan, NHTI

Student-Athlete of the Year: Darius Bryant, Warren Wilson College

Player of the Year: Michael Taylor, Berkeley College-NY